Two weeks since I landed, and first week of work done! (No more funemployment for me)

rsz_fish_markets_james_horan_353

It seems crazy to think that I’ve been in Sydney for two weeks. In many ways it still feels like a holiday (an extra long one), but at the same time I feel as if I’ve always been here. Every now and then I get a sense of deja vu, not because I’ve been to a place before, but because I’ve moved past being frantic and anxious about everything, and am instead embracing all the newness and the change, and I remember feeling this way, all excited and anticipating about what lied around the corner when I first moved to London.

Today marked the end of my first week at my new job- the whole reason that I’m here in the first place- and I can honestly say that it’s been a great week. Having a bit of a routine has been so so nice, and I’ve genuinely LOVED getting my research brain back into action. There’s lots to learn, but I’m also feeling more and more confident that I’ve got a lot to give too. The name ‘Loren’ is also already well and truly out the car-park (it never lasts long… why is that?)- from now on it’s Loz, Lozzy or Lozzo.

My first ‘Happy Friday’ in Oz contained a few highlights: remembering that I can still turn my ‘pharma-chat’ on when I need to, a delicious seafood lunch from the amazing fish market at Darling Harbour (accompanied with wine… in the park… in the sun- sorry guys in the UK!), an afternoon of juggling practice, and ending with champagne whilst ‘Bat outta hell’ played throughout the office.

And top it all off, my day finished with a trip to Ikea- which I LOVED. Because that trip means I’m moving into a super exciting, shiny house next week. Near the beach (so expect a constant stream of #beachlife photos), with some lovely people.

It also means that because the day I move is the same day as my office Christmas party, my potential to forget I’ve moved house and rock up at the wrong address is feeling like a greater and greater dead cert.

BRING ON WEEK THREE!

Leave a Reply

